Skip to main content

The Mitral Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Board developed and maintains the Standards and Best Practice for Mitral Valve Repair Reference Centers. The Scientific Advisory Board is composed of a highly respected group of physician leaders from the cardiology and cardiac surgery community.

Scientific Advisory Board

David H. Adams, MD
Cardiac Surgeon-in-Chief, Mount Sinai Health System
Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis Professor and System Chairman,
Department of Cardiovascular Surgery
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
President, Mitral Foundation
New York, New York
Julie Swain, MD
Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Cardiovascular Surgery 
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Quality and Outcomes Director, Mitral Foundation
New York, New York
Kevin D. Accola, MD
Executive Director, Cardiothoracic Surgery
& Structural Heart Program
Co-Director, Cardiovascular Institute
AdventHealth Florida
Orlando, Florida
Vinay Badhwar, MD
Gordon F. Murray Professor and Chair
Department of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgery
West Virginia University
Morgantown, West Virginia
Steven F. Bolling, MD
Professor of Cardiac Surgery
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Robert O. Bonow, MD, MS
Goldberg Distinguished Professor of Cardiology
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Chicago, Illinois

Joanna Chikwe MD, FRCS
The Irina and George Schaeffer Distinguished Chair in Cardiac Surgery
Professor of Cardiac Surgery
Chair, Department of Cardiac Surgery
Smidt Heart Institute
Los Angeles, California

Tirone E. David, MD, FRCSC
Professor of Cardiac Surgery
University of Toronto
Toronto, Canada

Marc Gillinov, MD
Chair, Department of Thoracic & Cardiovascular Surgery
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio

Patrick M. McCarthy, MD
Chief, Division of Cardiac Surgery
Executive Director, Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute
Heller-Sacks Professor of Surgery
Northwestern University
Northwestern Medical Group
Chicago, Illinois
Federico Milla, MD
Marcus Heart Valve Center
Piedmont Healthcare
Atlanta, Georgia
Marc R. Moon, MD
John M. Schoenberg Professor, Surgery Chief, Section of Cardiac Surgery
Program Director, Thoracic Surgery Residency Program
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri
Rick A. Nishimura, MD
Judd and Mary Morris Leighton Professor of Cardiovascular Diseases and Hypertension
Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota
Patrick T. O'Gara, MD
Director of Strategic Planning, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Watkins Family Distinguished Chair in Cardiology Professor
Harvard Medical School
Cambridge, Massachussettes
Andrew Wang, MD
Professor of Medicine
Vice Chief for Clinical Affairs, Division of Cardiology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina
Joseph Woo, MD
Norman E. Shumway Professor and Chair, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery Stanford University School of Medicine
Professor, by courtesy, Department of Bioengineering, Stanford University
Stanford, California

Page Created: Apr. 08, 2020 Last Updated: Jul. 22, 2020